From 1st May to 31st October
Weekdays from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sundays and Holidays from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Guided tours can be booked in advance.
This abbey of the Augustinian Canons was founded on a rock cliff high above the Danube in 1410. Under the leadership of Prevost Hieronymus Übelbacher it was modified and baroquized by J. Munggenast, M. Steindl and J. Prandtauer in the first half of the 18th century.
The blue and white tower of the abbey church is a regional landmark. Since it's dissolution by Emperor Joseph II in 1788 it was incorporated into the Augustinian canons of Herzogenburg, to whom it still belongs today.
From April to October you can visit daily the picturesque courtyard, the Collegiate Church, the Exhibition about Saint Augustine and the wonderful Danube terrace. With a guided tour the Cloister and the Crypt are also accessible. Guided tours for groups can be booked on advance the whole year, also in English and French!
We also offer guided tours with an organ concert, Special tours for children and families and wine tastings in cooperation with a local Winery.