15. March - 17. November 2019, open daily from 10 am to 6 pm.
The hunting lodge is only 3 km away from Schloss Hof and a real insider's tip. PRINCE EUGENE OF SAVOY'S PRIVATE GEM
Count Ernst Rüdiger von Starhemberg commissioned Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach in 1693 to design a small hunting lodge. In 1726 Prince Eugene purchased Schloss Niederweiden and commissioned the planning of a spacious garden to the east of the building. This rococo-type garden was an early sign of the change in garden landscaping: while Schloss Hof demonstrates the strict symmetry of the Baroque, here, diverting and playful irregularity is the core design principle.
Remodelling under Maria Theresia
In 1738 Joseph Friedrich of Saxony-Hilburghausen became the owner of Schloss Niederweiden which now became the often frequented scene of exhilarating festivities. In 1754, however, the owner was compelled to sell the property for profit. Maria Theresa purchased Schloss Niederweiden in 1755 and made a gift of them to her spouse. In 1765, Maria Theresa commissioned Nikolaus von Picassi, to remodel the chateau. The oval hall with a new domed roof was adorned with illusionist wall paintings by Jean-Baptiste Pillement, showing exotic flora and birds and oriental musicians.
Today Schloss Niederweiden is being used on a permanent basis as an exhibition venue. Also worth seeing is the adjacent baroque game kitchen. The patisserie at Schloss Niederweiden is open daily during the exhibition season from 10 am to 6 pm.